• Explore Our Brands  |  
  • GET 10% OFF ALL ONLINE RATES,

    OR S'inscrire
GET 10% OFF ALL ONLINE RATES, OR S'inscrire
Centara Muscat Hotel Oman
Réservation en ligne
Rechercher

Destination

Intriguant, complexe, et offrant des paysages époustouflants, le Sultanat d’Oman est source d’inspiration. La variété des monuments historiques construits au fil des siècles à découvrir est impressionnante, tout comme les dunes qui parsèment le pays, les côtes du sultanat, les forts et attractions médiévaux et les souks aux parfums de cafés et d’encens. 

L’hôtel est situé à Al-Ghala, le centre d’affaires en pleine expansion de la capitale, à seulement 10 minutes de route du bord de mer et non loin du centre de convention Oman International Exhibition Centre. Profitez de votre temps libre pour vous imprégner de la culture locale, séduisante et riche en traditions : apprécier la fabrication de boutre au port de Sur, arpentez le souk de Mutthrah – fourmillant d’activité et plein de charme; ou visitez les nombreuses sites historiques de la ville. Le Royal Opera House de Muscat non loin de l’hôtel est incontournable pour les représentations artistiques telles que des opéras et ballets d’envergures internationales, et les concerts. Le Muscat Hills Golf & Country Club et le Almouj Golf at The Wave Muscat sont à 20 kilomètres de l’hôtel.

L’hôtel est à seulement 15 minutes de route de l’aéroport. 

Attractions touristiques

Plongée

Muscat abrite de nombreux centres de plongée PADI, ce qui fait de la capitale le point de départ idéal de tous plongeurs souhaitant découvrir le littoral relativement intact du Sultanat d’Oman et le monde sous-marin du Golfe Persique. La région de Muscat offre de bonnes conditions de plongée tout au long de l’année et recèle de petits joyaux tels que la réserve naturelle des iles Daymaniyat Islands, composée de petites iles rocheuses entourées de superbes récifs et un site consacré à la nidification des tortues de mer; les récifs coralliens peu profonds, criques et épaves de Bander Khayran au sud-est de Muscat; ou encore Fahal Island ou l’Ile Requin, connue pour ses profonds récifs et crevasses sous-marine à explorer. Vous pourrez y voir des requins aussi. 

La région la plus au nord du Sultanat, Musandam, s’avance dans le Strait of Hormuz et présente des baies abritées, des cirques bordées par de superbes récifs, et une abondante vie marine. Un terrain de jeux idéal pour les plongeurs expérimentés. Plus au sud, la région de Salalah révèle un littoral sublimement creusée par des baies et des plages vierges – une destination de plongée fascinante en hors-saison. 


Golf

Les amateurs de golf apprécieront l’accès facile à deux golfs de 18 trous, chacun à seulement 15 minutes de route de l’hôtel. Muscat Hills Golf & Country Club, le tout premier golf à Oman, vous offre un green naturel composé de chenaux généreux et de shoots intéressants au dessus des escarpements de wadi. Le Almouj Golf at The Wave, dessiné par Greg Norman, est le premier golf PGA du pays, offrant 18 trous à par 72. À un peu plus d’une heure de route depuis l’hôtel, le Jabal Sifah Golf Course, conçu par Peter Harradine, a 18 trous parsemés entre des dunes le long du littoral.  


La Mosquée Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque

Située à quelques minutes de l’hôtel, l’impressionnante mosquée Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque est un lieu de dévotion mais aussi un véritable hommage aux arts Omani et une superbe destination pour les amateurs d’architecture. Erigée en 2011, cette mosquée faite de grès translucide d’Inde et inspirée des designs Perses classiques est la plus colossale du Sultanat. Le Musala principal s’étend sur 4 000 mètres carrés et peut accueillir jusqu’à 20,000 personnes tandis que les œuvres d’art de la mosquée, les jardins évoquant des oasis, le dôme central de 50 mètres de haut et le chandelier Swarovski de 14 mètres ajoutent un sentiment irrésistible de grandeur. 

Bien que la mosquée soit ouverte au public, veuillez vous habiller convenablement, le port de pantalon est requis et les épaules doivent être couvertes. Les visiteuses doivent couvrir leurs têtes.  


Royal Opera House

À seulement cinq minutes de l’hôtel, le Royal Opera House a ouvert ses portes récemment, présentant au public un design spectaculaire et sophistiqué aux intérieurs riches en ornements fait main. Conçu pour promouvoir les arts et la culture du monde Arabe, le Royal Opera House officie aussi comme le lieu incontournable pour les représentations artistiques telles que des opéras et ballets d’envergures internationales, et les concerts.


Les souks de Mittrah et Nizwa

Le Souk de Muttrah se trouve à environ 20 minutes de route de l’hôtel. Rappelant un ancien labyrinthe aux allées étroites, le souk offre un superbe choix d’objets en argent orné et d’or vendu au poids, d’encensoirs et de khanjars, les dagues traditionnelles Omanies. Hors de Muscat, à environ deux heures de route, le Souk de Nizwa accueille des enchères d’animaux chaque vendredi et est aussi l’endroit idéal pour vos achats de souvenirs.  


The Rustaq Loop

À deux heures de route de Muscat, la Rustaq Loop est indéniablement l’unes des attractions les plus enrichissantes d’Al Batinah. Au programme : une journée où vous visiterez trois des forteresses les plus importantes d’Oman, Nakhal Fort, Rustaq Fort et Al Hazm Fort, et explorerez le panorama fascinant de cette région, mélange de montagne majestueuses et de superbes wadis. 


Les forteresses de Nizwa, Bahla et Nakhal

Au pied des montagnes Djebel Akhdar gisent les forteresses de Rustaq, au nord, et d’Izka, Nizwa et Bahla, au sud, toutes d’anciennes capitales du Sultanat. À environ deux heures de route depuis Muscat, l’oasis de Bahla abrite les ruines de l’anciennement glorieux Bahla Fort où vous trouverez aussi la mosquée Friday Mosque, partie intégrante de la petite ville de Bahla, tout comme le souk et la palmeraie voisine. 

À une heure de Muscat, Nakhal Fort est l’uns des forts les plus pittoresques du pays, majestueusement situé sur un piton rocheux. Une visite du fort vous offre un aperçu du mode de vie Omani d’antan ainsi que de superbes vues depuis la partie haute du fort sur Nizwa et sur les plantations de dattiers. Ne manquez pas de visiter le souk de Nizwa surtout le vendredi matin lors des enchères animalières – une tradition locale qui perdure. 

Les origines de ce fort datent probablement de la période pré-Islam même si la structure même du fort a été remodelée plusieurs fois au fil des siècles. 


Wadi Shab et la doline de Bimmah

À environ deux heures de voiture sur la route menant à Suri, les ravins étroits Wadi Shab et Wadi Tiwi peignent un tableau des plus dramatiques, confinés par des murs de grès et des plantations de dates et de bananiers aux pieds des falaises. Il n’y a pas de route menant a Wadi Shab. Y accéder à pied prend environ une heure mais offre de superbes paysages comprenant les ruines d’anciens villages, des plantations et des piscines naturelles aux eaux turquoise scintillantes. 


Shopping à Muscat

Ville où les souks authentiques se mélangent aux centres commerciaux, Muscat, aussi connue sous le nom de la ville fortifiée, a tout ce dont les amateurs de shopping rêvent. Le quartier d’Al Qurum, non loin du bord de mer, abrite de nombreux centres commerciaux. Le Sabco Centre, tout premier centre commercial du Sultanat, offre des boutiques de luxe et un souk en intérieur. City Centre Muscat, près de l’aéroport et à quelques minutes en voiture seulement de l’hôtel, présente une sélection de plus de 140 magasins, allant de l’électronique à la bijouterie et aux marques de vêtements locales et internationales. Pour des objets artisanaux d’excellente qualité, l’Omani Heritage Gallery d’ Al-Qurum fera votre bonheur.


Observation de dauphins

Les eaux qui entourent le Sultanat d’Oman grouillent de vie marine et vous permettent, après un court trajet en bateau depuis Muscat, de profiter d’unes des attractions les plus populaires de Muscat : l’observation de dauphins. Les dauphins à long nez se manifestent le plus souvent en groupe et avec un peu de chance vous pourrez aussi apercevoir des baleines à bosse et des faux orques. 


rester en contact

avec toutes les offres et les nouvelles

Saisissez votre adresse e-mail pour recevoir notre newsletter et nos offres spéciales.

S'inscrire
Suivez-nous
Applications mobiles
Secured Payments

• Explore Our Brands  |  
  • GET 10% OFF ALL ONLINE RATES,

    OR Sign Up
GET 10% OFF ALL ONLINE RATES, OR Sign Up
Centara Muscat Hotel Oman
ONLINE RESERVATION
Search

Map & Attractions

Oman is an inspiring, complex destination of great natural beauty and historical depth, with an incredible variety of sights, built up over the centuries, to explore; vast deserts with towering dunes, scenic seascapes; lively souks scented by coffee and frankincense; ancient forts and mediaeval landmarks.

The hotel is located in Al-Ghala, Muscat’s developing business district, just a 10-minute drive from Athaiba Beach yet with the Oman International Exhibition Centre just a short drive away.  During your leisure hours, you’re free to soak up the rich, engaging culture: watch the crafting of dhows at the harbour in Sur, visit Muttrah’s souk, a hive of Omani social activity, or visit the many historical features of the city. The nearby Royal Opera House Muscat is the natural focus for live performances, ranging from internationally acclaimed opera and ballets to local and regional concerts. The Muscat Hills Golf & Country Club and Almouj Golf at The Wave Muscat lie 20 kilometres away. 

Muscat International Airport is only 15 minutes away from the hotel.  

Tourist Attractions

Diving

Muscat has many PADI dive centres, making it a great place for divers to start exploring Oman’s relatively untouched coastline and the Persian Gulf. In the Must area, diving is available all year round, and features diving in the Daymaniyat Islands, a nature reserve with small, rocky islands surrounded by coral reefs, and a turtle nesting site; the shallow coral reefs, coves, bays and shipwrecks at Bander Khayran, southeast of Muscat; and Fahal Island or Shark Island, renowned for its swim-throughs and deep reefs, and occasional shark sightings. 

Oman’s northernmost region, Musandam, juts into the Strait of Hormuz and is an area of sheltered bays and coves with vibrant reefs, and abundant marine life. It’s perfect for seasoned divers. Far to the south, the area around Salalah presents you with a sublime coastline hollowed with pristine bays and beaches, and makes for a fascinating dive destination during the off-season.


Golfing

If you wish to tee off in Muscat, the hotel offers an easy access to two 18-hole golf courses. 15 minutes’ drive away from the hotel you’ll find the Muscat Hills Golf & Country Club, Oman’s very first golf course, complete with a stunning natural landscape, generous fairways and challenging shot opportunities over the wadi escarpments. Also 15 minutes away by road, the Greg Norman-designed Almouj Golf at The Wave is the country’s first PGA championship course, and is a 18-hole, par 72 championship course. Just over one hour by road from the hotel, the 18-hole Peter Harradine-designed Jabal Sifah Golf Course features mountain-links style holes that run along the sea.


Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque

Located a few minutes’ drive from the hotel, the massive Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque is a testament to Omani craft and devotion, and is a must-see for art and architecture enthusiasts. Built in 2011 of translucent Indian sandstone and inspired by classical Persian designs, the tranquil Mosque is the Sultanate’s most colossal. The main musalla spans over 4,000 square metres and accommodates up to 20,000 worshippers, while other breathtaking features include the many works of art, stunning oasis-like gardens, the 50-metre high central dome and a transfixing 14-metre Swarovski chandelier. 

Although the mosque is open to all visitors, please remember to dress appropriately, wearing long trousers and with your shoulders covered. Women visitors must cover their head also. 


The Royal Opera House

Only five minutes away from the hotel, the recently-opened Royal Opera House is spectacularly designed, featuring a sophisticated, rich interior laden with handmade ornaments.  The centre has been conceived to promote Arabian arts and culture while hosting live performances, ranging from internationally acclaimed opera and ballets to local and regional concerts.  


Muttrah and Nizwa Souk

You’ll reach the Muttrah Souk in approximately 20 minutes by road. Reminiscent of an ancient maze, with narrow alleyways, this souk offers a fabulous choice of ornate silver and gold sold by weight, incense burners and khanjars - traditional Omani daggers. Outside Muscat, approximately two hours away, the Nizaw Souk hosts a live animal auction each Friday and is also the perfect place to pick up traditional handicrafts. 


The Rustaq Loop

Two hours’ drive from Muscat, the Rustaq Loop is one of most rewarding attractions in Al Batinah and makes for a fine day of driving, exploring and sightseeing. The Rustaq Loop combines stunning mountain and wadi scenery along with the sights of three of Oman’s most popular fortresses: Nakhal Fort, Rustaq Fort and Al Hazm Fort. 


Nizwa, Bahla and Nakhal Fortresses

At the foot of Djebel Akhdar lie the fortresses of Rustaq to the north, and Izki, Nizwa and Bahla to the south, all former capitals of the sultanate. Two hours’ drive away from Muscat, the oasis of Bahla is home to the ruins of what was the glorious Bahla Fort, and at the foot of the fort lies the Friday Mosque, part of the small town of Bahla, complete with a souk and palm grove.

One hour’s drive away from Muscat, Nakhal Fort is one of Oman’s most picture-perfect forts, dramatically perched atop a natural rock outcrop. It offers you a glimpse of the antique lifestyle of the Omani people, and great views over Nizwa towards sprawling date plantations are to be had from the top of the fort.  Visit the adjacent Nizwa souk especially for the live animal auction every Friday morning – an ongoing local tradition. 
The origins of the fort probably date back to pre-Islamic times, although the structure has been continuously remodelled over the following centuries. 


Wadi Shab and the Bimmah Sinkhole

About two hours south of Muscat on the road to Suri lies the dramatic Wadi Shab and Wadi Tiwi, two narrow ravines hemmed in by towering sandstone walls with date plantations and banana palms at the base of the cliffs. As there’s no road into Wadi Shab, progress is on foot only and will take you about one hour, passing plantations, the ruins of old villages and deep rock pools with shimmering turquoise waters. 


Shopping

Old, authentic souks meets modern shopping in Muscat - also known as the ‘walled city’ - which truly has everything shopping aficionados could desire. The Al Qurum area contains many department stores and shopping centres, along with an easy access to the beachfront. The Sabco Centre, the Sultanate’s first shopping centre, is home to a series of luxury brands and has its own indoor souk. City Centre Muscat, close to the airport and a short drive away from the hotel, has a selection of over 140 retail stores, ranging from jewellery and electronics to international and local fashion brands. If you’re looking for high quality local crafts, head to the Omani Heritage Gallery in Al-Qurum. 


Dolphin watching

The waters that surround the Sultanate of Oman are teeming with marine life, and a short boat ride off the coast of Muscat will allow you to enjoy one of the most popular attractions in Muscat - dolphin watching. Spinner dolphins are the most commonly-encountered species, and are often joined by groups of long-nosed dolphins. If you’re lucky, you may also see humpback or false killer whales.


stay in touch

with all offers and news

Enter your email address to receive our regular newsletters and promotional emails, packed with special offers and great deals.

Subscribe
Follow Us
Mobile Apps
Secured Payments